The Hearth: “the making of ME”

The Hearth: “the making of ME”

The Hearth: NOĒMA, Sally Law & Bernard Chan, Giocoso Trio

The Hearth: Hong Kong Grand Opera

The Hearth: Jazz, from the Ground Up, onto the Steps

The Hearth

The Hearth: The Orchestra Academy

The Hearth: “Soul Walk” – An interactive music & mind experience and Live

The Hearth: “the making of ME”

The Hearth “the making of ME”

Creativity Day

Date & Time

2 May 2022 2:30pm - 5:30pm

Location

Laundry Steps

Price

Free of charge

Programme

Carrying on the exploration on what “identity” means to musicians, “The Hearth” invites the renowned singer-songwriter Vicky Fung to design two thought-provoking performances in May and June. The idea of “identity” can be very broad, be it ethnicity, gender or roles we played – and every one of us will certainly step into a different “identity” at some point in life.

“the making of ME”

Musicians create music, and music is also how a musician shapes oneself.

We learn more about ourselves when we are lost. We might all have experienced a sense of insecurity in the last few years, and it prompts us to question about ourselves and the world.

Emola is a theatre and musical actress. The pandemic has stripped her of performance opportunities, but it also strengthened her determination to get back on stage. In this performance, she will tell us how she lived through the frustration and came back stronger to pursue her dreams.

Singer-songwriter Peterson is a trained nurse, and he has dreamt to pursue a musical career after a few years of medical practice. He has been a full-time nurse over the past one and a half years and dealt with the pandemic first-hand. Through his music, he will share his reflections on how the pandemic changes his creative approach and how he shuffles between being a nurse and a musician.

The up-and-coming singer-songwriter Cath Wong has walked many paths in order to stand at where she is right now. She started as a busker, and gradually discover the sensibility, darkness and various aspects in her personality. With a guitar, she tells us how she gradually shapes herself.

Storyteller Chow Zip treads the journey with the three musicians in a monologue, discovering each of their story of “the making of ME”.

Time

Line Up

Genre

2:30pm – 3:10pm

Emola

Musical / Pop

3:40pm – 4:20pm

Peterson

Acoustic / Pop Rock

4:50pm – 5:30pm

Cath Wong

Pop


About “The Hearth”

We believe everything in life can be an inspiration of arts, and everyone can unlock their artistic potential through participation and appreciation. By bringing people together to share a time and a space, performing arts can create bonding and memories that are unique and relevant to those on and off the stage.

“The Hearth” is a regular thematic programme to explore how performing arts can connect people from different communities and create synergy. By integrating music, dance, theatre, films, literature and more, each monthly programme is designed to look into how performing arts can nurture creativity, establish identity and care for wellbeing. These programmes are curated and led by creative and academic professionals across various sectors, presented in a range of performances, workshops, screenings, games, talks and more to encourage participation, evoke thinking and stimulate discussion around topics that concern us.


Biography

Cath Wong
Emola
Peterson
Chow Zip

A singer-songwriter under Sony Music’s O.U.R. Works label, Cath Wong was talent-scouted at a busking event in Taipei.  She won newcomer awards at various music awards in 2018, and her popularity grows significantly in 2019 with social media stats increased by 6 times in 1 year. Her Mandarin songs also help her gain exposure and recognition in Greater China region. 

Cath has released two albums “Cath Wong Says” and “Nine Traces of Life”, both with critical acclaim.  Her breakthrough came with singles ‘Cracks In The Wall’ and ‘Before Dawn’, embracing a diversity of styles and mood as her music evolves. She held her second music show in 2021, winning the hearts of the audience with her mesmerizing performance and a great concert program and theme.  Every little success adds up – Cath has won Best Female Singer (Silver) at 2021 Ultimate Song Chart Awards, turning a new page in her music career.

Emola is now a freelance actress. Emola was born and raised in Hong Kong. In 2014, she went to the U.S. for further studies, majored in theatre studies. Emola came back to Hong Kong in 2014 and worked in the aviation and education field. However, because of her unceasing passion for the theatre, Emola enrolled into the Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts in 2016 and graduated in 2020.

Registered Nurse in public hospital and indie singer-songwriter. He has been involved in demo productions and vocal singing and publishing rearranged pop songs on the Internet from time to time. He started making original songs several years ago. He participated in a programme of “HandiSongs: Tertiary Students’ Musical Tribute to Our City’s Craftspersons” and produced a song called Typing Strings for guitar craftsmen. Afterward he keeps making his own songs actively and the music genres focus on acoustic and pop rock at this moment. By now, he has three songs published on streaming platforms, including Us, The Note and Stay Alive.

Program Host / Actor / Comedian / Script Writer

Program Host experience: Now TV , ATV, DBC, Cable TV

Now working in RTHK as DJ and drama script writer

Music Project

Script: Serrini X INK Remix , Ho Yau X INK Remix

Script + Acting: Beatfriday Year 3, 4 Live Show

Comedy Show

2017:《Good Bye Little Chow》

2019:《Women from which planet?》

Radio Drama

2021:《Daisy in the multiverse》feat. Lai Ying @ Pomato

2022:《Game of Eden》

品嚐藝術

品嚐藝術:《the making of ME》

品嚐藝術:NOĒMA、羅莎莉及陳駿軒、Giocoso Trio

品嚐藝術:香港大歌劇院

品嚐藝術:爵士由地至上,進階版

品嚐藝術

品嚐藝術:管弦樂精英訓練計劃

品嚐藝術:《與自己彳亍》─ 互動音樂自癒體驗

品嚐藝術:《the making of ME》

品嚐藝術:the making of ME

大館創意日

日期及時間

2022年5月2日 2:30pm - 5:30pm

地點

洗衣場石階

費用

免費

節目

「品嚐藝術」由香港著名唱作人馮穎琪打響頭炮,延續去年十二月開始以音樂思考我們的「身份」的主題,在五月和六月接連帶來兩場發人深省的演出。身份可能會令你聯想到不同種族、性別與角色,而每個人走到人生不同階段,或者都會迎接一種全新的「身份」。

the making of ME

做音樂的人創作音樂,但對音樂人來說,或許他們也會認同,音樂創造了「自己」。

迷惘是認識自己的過程,這幾年活著侷促不安的生活,令我們對自己、對世界充滿懷疑。

對舞台劇和音樂劇演員羅正心(Emola)來說,疫情失去不少演出機會,卻令他更深刻感受對演出的渴望。Emola 用歌聲道來她如何尋覓舞台的理想,沿途曾經無力與迷失,到疫情中如何自處。

唱作人梁子謙(Peterson),一心畢業後當幾年護士,然後再尋覓自己理想。過去一年半成為全職護士,剛巧遇上疫情。Peterson 透過他的創作,與我們分享他在音樂與醫護之間的選擇,以及疫情如何改變了他與他的音樂。

唱作歌手黃妍(Cath),從出道至今嘗試了不同的方向,從街頭歌手到文青,到慢慢滲透她陰暗和多面向。Cath 用她一人一結他,與觀眾細訴如何在創作中塑造心目中的自我。

說書人鄒攝(Zip)以獨白劇開啟三位音樂人的經歷,與觀眾一起發掘每一個主角與身份的經歷。

時間

演出單位

風格

2:30pm – 3:10pm

Emola 羅正心

音樂劇、流行音樂

3:40pm – 4:20pm

Peterson

民謠、流行搖滾

4:50pm – 5:30pm

黃妍

流行音樂


關於「品嚐藝術」

表演藝術的可貴之處,在於人們能身處同一空間、共享一段時光,跨越台上台下創造回憶和共鳴。生活中的每個細節都能成為藝術養份,透過參與和欣賞,我們相信每個人都能開啟藝術潛能。

「品嚐藝術」是大館的常規表演藝術節目,每月圍繞不同主題舉行,透過音樂、舞蹈、劇場、電影和文學等,以表演藝術連結不同群體,發掘每個人心中的藝術特質。每個月的節目由香港不同界別的創意及學術人才策劃,藉著一系列的演出、工作坊、放映、遊戲和座談等,鼓勵觀眾參與,激發思考和討論,探討與我們息息相關的主題。我們相信表演藝術能培養創意、建立身份並滋養身心。


藝術家簡介

黃妍
Emola 羅正心
Peterson
鄒攝

黃妍(Cath),為 Sony Music 平原習作(O.U.R. Works) 旗下唱作歌手,於台北 busking 演出而被發掘。她在 2018 年於各大音樂頒獎禮贏得新人獎,而她的粉絲數目亦在 2019 年增長了 5 倍。她的國語歌曲亦擴闊大中華地區市場。

Cath 發行的兩張專輯《黃妍說》及《九道痕跡》備受好評,其中兩首單曲〈牆身有裂〉及〈天光前〉為她帶來音樂上的突破。2021 年,她舉行了第二個個人音樂會,以歌曲編排及表演贏得觀眾的讚賞。她的音樂漸受肯定,並在 2021 年叱咤樂壇流行榜頒獎典禮中奪得「叱咤樂壇女歌手」銀獎,為她的音樂路展開新的一頁。

Emola(羅正心)現時是自由身香港舞台劇演員。 Emola 在香港長大,並於 2012 年到美國讀書,主修戲劇。Emola 於 2014 年回港後投身航空業及教育界。但因為心中對戲劇念念不忘,遂於 2016 年再入讀香港演藝學院主修戲劇表演,2020 年於香港演藝學院畢業。

公立醫院護士及獨立唱作人。他工餘時間參與不同的 demo 製作和演唱,也在網上發佈重新編曲的流行曲作品。他數年前年開始音樂創作,曾參與「一手歌:聽城內的那雙手」活動,為手作結他師傅製作《結弦》一曲。其後積極製作個人作品,暫時音樂風格為民謠、流行搖滾。現於串流平台有三首個人作品《以我們之名》、《筆記》、《只需不死》。

主持 / 演員 / 棟篤笑表演者 / 編劇

曾於 Now TV、ATV、DBC、Cable TV 擔任主持

現職 RTHK 唱片騎師、並負責編寫廣播劇

音樂合作

編劇:Serrini  X INK Remix、張學丘 X INK Remix

編劇及演出:Beatfriday Year 3, 4 Live Show

棟篤笑演出

2017:《走青啊,唔該!》

2019:《來自哪星的女人》

廣播劇

2021 :《愛麗英奇幻仙境》feat. 麗英 @ 小薯茄

2022:《Game of Eden》